Starcraft Diary #9 – Up the Ladder / Understanding Gold & Platinum Game Sense

Hello readers! I know that I haven’t posted in this blog for quite a while. And it’s not that I haven’t been playing SC2, I’ve been doing a lot of that, it’s just that sometimes I find it difficult to place into writing what I think of the game, strategies, meta game, etc, that I was a bit scared that I won’t be churning out anything worth reading. But now that enough time has passed, and I’ve made quite a bit of progress in the game, I’m back!

I noticed that when I first had the intentions of writing my StarCraft experiences here, that I was a bronze 1v1 player. Well, after some 3 months of playing (I didn’t have a gaming computer for over a month), I currently sit at #2 of my Gold league. While I would be happy if I could reach Platinum in the near future, I am quite aware of the fact that I am slowly but surely improving.

My mechanics and reaction time have improved. But most importantly, my game sense has gotten better.

A recent experience that echos this sentiment has to do with not giving up after losing a big engagement. As I currently am playing mostly Gold and Platinum players, their game senses, while certainly better than those from Bronze and Silver, are surely not at the pro level.

There have been many cases where I lost in a big fight against my opponent, or my all-in strategy didn’t work, and had my opponent pushed out right then he would’ve won, but didn’t, allowing me to macro back up and tech switch to take back the game.

It is quite discouraging to lose almost your entire army after an engagement, and sometimes players are tempted to leave the game right then. But the fact is, your opponent will not always have the intuition to keep pushing and win the game. Sometimes they would fall back to their base, giving you an opportunity to macro up and / or harass.

So, remember, when you lose your army, don’t give up right away! See what your opponent does first. If he massed roaches and falls back after beating your army and keeps on massing roaches, what’s to stop you from massing voidrays and kill him? All you need is that window of few minutes, and in the Gold league, those windows are often wide open.

One thought on “Starcraft Diary #9 – Up the Ladder / Understanding Gold & Platinum Game Sense

Leave a Reply

